The Euregio Innovation Award 2023
May 2023

The Euregio Innovation Award, the initiative that every year funds innovative projects by entrepreneurs, inventors and developers from Tirol, South Tirol and Trentino, returns in 2023. This year's theme is 'Energy Transition and Security of Supply', which includes three areas: green energy production, energy efficiency and energy security. 

The call for entries is structured as an international competition that will end, for the winners, with a prize (in cash and services) and an invitation to attend the European Forum in Alpbach to present their work and meet in person with leading scientists and political representatives.

Do you have an interesting project and want to participate? Apply now! There is time until 7 June >>

Euregio Innovation Award: the project

The Award is part of the actions in support of entrepreneurship promoted during the Euregio Days of the Alpbach European Forum, the event that since 1945 has transformed the Austrian municipality into a gathering place for hundreds of academics, politicians, industry experts and students ready to discuss economic, political, scientific and environmental issues. 

It is sponsored by the Chambers of Commerce of Tyrol, South Tyrol and Trentino and will be awarded during the 'Tyrolean Day' (20 August), which this year turns into the Euregio Summit on Energy Transition and Security of Supply.

Euregio Innovation Award: who is it for

The initiative is open to entrepreneurs and collaborators (e.g. inventors, developers, project managers) who have conceived and/or applied innovations in products, processes or services and work in a company in the Euregio region or work in other countries, but are themselves from Tirol, South Tirol or Trentino.

The products, processes or services submitted must already be active and related to the area 'Energy transition and security of supply'

Specifically, three categories are available:

  • Green energy production
  • Energy efficiency
  • Energy security

Rules and Prizes

The Euregio Innovation Award is structured in 3 phases: 

Stage 1

Applicants must apply by 7 June 2023 via the procedure indicated at the following LINK.

Stage 2

The nine shortlisted applicants will present their projects in front of the Euregio Innovation Days working group at the European Forum in Alpbach on Saturday 19 August. 

The jury will evaluate the works taking into account the written presentation (50% of the final vote), the report and the discussion (50% of the final vote).


The award ceremony for the winner will take place on 20 August 2023 during the plenary session of the Tirol Days.


The jury will choose the best projects that will be awarded the following prizes:

  • 1st place: 10,000 euros
  • 2nd place: 5,000 euros
  • 3rd place: 2,000 euros

Half of the prize money will be paid to the winners in cash, the remaining share will be paid in the form of regional public relations services provided by the development agencies of the three territories involved.