Local Authorities

Valley Communities

Valley Communities are local public institutions established by the provincial law of institutional reform ( Provincial law 16 June 2006, n3). It defines them as the appropriate institutional entity at the right level to carry out certain administrative functions. Valley Communities represent an intermediate level between the autonomous Province of Trento (which in accordance with its special Autonomy manages most functions typically managed by the Italian Government) and the municipalities, currently 217, spread throughout the territory which are sometimes too small to effectively run citizen’s services.

The law establishes that these communities have to perform essential functions related to individuals and to the development of their territories. In a first stage the autonomous Province of Trento has transferred to the communities responsibilities related to welfare, housing policy and the right to education. In addition, communities must deal with responsibilities related to urban planning. Each community can adapt the policy to fit most of the needs and characteristics of its territory. Moreover, it can approve its own plans related to sectors affecting citizens life (such as plans related to welfare, land, community and so on).

Community organisational bodies: the assembly, the President, the executive body and the mayors’ assembly. Each community’s assembly can have a different number of representatives depending on the number of municipalities in that community's area.

The assembly is the political-administrative body of the community. It approves the rules, guidelines and programming acts, as well as strategic plans and directives related to the organisation of services, the budget and management reports.

The president is the representative of the Authority. He or she appoints the executive body and chairs the assembly and the executive body. The president also has the legal right to be a member of the Council of local Autonomies.

The Executive Organ is made up of the President and a minimum of three to a maximum of five additional members (this limit is pushed to seven in communities that are made up of more than 21 municipalities). Members of the Executive Organ are appointed by the President. It is the ruling body of the Authority and manages its activities.